The Ontario Amateur Softball Association has set up a fund to receive donations that are used exclusively to recognize U19 Midget or U23 Junior players that have demonstrated a combination of athletic performance, academic proficiency and community service. Donations can be made at any time by sending a cheque, made payable to the OASA Scholarship Fund, to the OASA Treasurer. The OASA also sponsors the Jack Cook Classic (Masters) Tournament each year with all proceeds going to fund future scholarships.

2017 Scholarship Award Winner: Justin Wagler

Justin lives in New Hamburg and played for the U23 Tavistock A’s during the 2017 season. He is currently attending the University of Waterloo where he is in his 2nd year studying Kinesiology.
Justin has earned numerous academic recognitions through both high school as well as university. He was an Ontario Scholar, received an award for the highest academic achievement in Exercise Science and Biology Subjects and was recognized with the Betty Albrecht Memorial Award for ‘behind the scenes leadership’ in 2015. In his first year at Waterloo he was on the Dean’s Honour List and received the President’s Scholarship of Distinction.

Justin has played ball for Tavistock for years. In 2016 he was recognized as the All Star Utility Player at the U23 Canadian championships. He was recognized as the tournament MVP at the Eastern Canadian championships in 2013 where his Tavistock A’s took home the Gold. In 2012 he was a member of the Gold medal winning team in the Ontario Summer Games.

He has been a consistent helper over the past several years at the annual Cephas Roth Memorial Tournament in Tavistock.

Justin’s goal is to become an athletic trainer, physiotherapist, massage therapist or strength and conditioning coach to help young athletes. To that end in the fall of 2017 he will be a Student Strength and Conditioning Coach for the University of Waterloo Warriors working with various varsity athletes and teams.

2017 Scholarship Award Winner: Riley Manion

Riley comes from Roblin, just north of Napanee, and in 2017 he played for the Napanee Express U19 Midget team. He graduated from Napanee District Secondary School and is currently attending St. Lawrence College in Kingston where he is enrolled in the Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program working towards becoming an electrician.
Riley has had success throughout high school being recognized through the Senior Welding Award, Certificate of Proficiency in Healthy Active Living and the Hawks Have Character Award for Responsibility.

On the ball diamond Riley has most recently been selected to the 2018 Junior Men’s National Team after leading his Napanee Express U19 team to a silver medal at the Canadians where he struck out 99 opponents over 50 innings. He has twice been recognized as the Most Valuable Pitcher in OASA Eliminations, receiving the U16 Gil Read Pitching Award in 2015 and the U19 Barry Ellerbeck Pitching Award in 2017. He has thrown 4 no hitters including ones in 2015 and 2017. Noteworthy team accomplishments have been winning silver at the 2017 U18 OASA eliminations and winning bronze at the 2016 U19 Canadians with the Campbellford Cougars. In addition to playing for Napanee Riley has worked with younger players at local pitching clinics to help them develop their skills.

Off the diamond Riley has played competitive hockey over the years including Junior C for the Napanee Raiders in 2016 and 2017. He has led drills and skills activities for younger players in the Napanee Crunch Hockey Association for several years too.

Outside of sports Riley has volunteered at the local food bank and annual Santa Claus parade.

Congratulations to these well deserving scholarship recipients.

Past Winners:
1994 Ryan Martin, Palmerston
Kipton Zavitz, Sarnia
2006 James Mayer, Toanche
Brent Mills, Napanee
Josh Roach, Waterloo
1995 Patrick Graham, Jarvis
Greg Shantz, Petersburg
Matt Tangney, Guelph
2007 Matt Allen, Kingston
Ryan Mitts, Oshawa
1996 Darren Hancock, Peterborough
David McDonald, Teeswater
2008 Cal McGarvey, Napanee
Blair Verheye, Kitchener
1997 Jerome Loewen, St. Catharines
Michel Souliere, Orleans
2009 Chris Brown, Napanee
Chad Fink, Sebringville
1998 Mark Kemp, Napanee
Jason McDonald, Teeswater
Joe Reid, Napanee
2010 Fred Hermack, Oshawa
Corey Way, Waterloo
1999 Evan Boyd, Stouffville
Allan Phibbs, Hagersville
Chris Shewfelt, Dundas
2011 Steven Ashbridge, Port Perry
Ben Kinsella, Markham
2000 Michael Fisher, Cambridge
Dan Jessiman, Stittsville
Jamie Lawlor, Bloomfield
2012 Brendon Bonnor, Greensville
Tom Fischer, Teeswater
2001 Matthew Herrington, Perth Road
Adam Hiller, Elmira
Brad Thomson, New Dundee
2013 Adan Fujita, Pickering
Ty Sebastian, Brussels
2002 Jon Ferguson, Stouffville
Tyler Robinson, Amherstview
Ryan Sharpe, Odessa
Matt White, North York
2014 Johnathan Baker, Kitchener
Tyson Zehr, Tavistock
2003 Chad Crawford, Stratford
Jeff Wilson, Simcoe
2015 Cole Bolton, Flinton
Keegan Scott, Napanee
Matt Wardrop, Owen Sound
2004 Kevin Buckley, Waterloo
Mike Grupstra, Brantford
Jeff McKee, Orangeville
2016 Derek Hyde, Tavistock
Zac Klein, Cobourg
Tyler Randerson, New Hamburg
2005 Andrew Naranscik, Windham
Andrew Putnam, Waterloo
2017 Riley Manion, Napanee
Justin Wagler, Tavistock