F.R Feaver Memorial Trophy

The F. R. Feaver Memorial Trophy was first introduced in 1972 and is awarded annually in memory of Frank Feaver who was the OASA Secretary from 1943 to 1956. Frank’s dedication, service and devotion played a major role in the expansion and development of the game of softball. The award is presented to a player, official or officer of any league or association who, in the opinion of the Feaver Awards Committee, has made an outstanding contribution to the game of softball.

2017 F.R Feaver Memorial Trophy Winner: Garry Waugh

The term “Mr. Softball” applies to this recipient in every sense. They have been involved in ball most of their life as a player, convenor, umpire and later as an administrator and promoter of the game.

I have been told he was a great shortstop, a consistent batter and a real team player. As an official he umpired he a lot of Minor and Intermediate games as well O.A.S.A. Elimination Tournaments. As a Convenor he has been supervising tournaments for over 21 years. When they ran a tournament you knew everything would be done well and there would be know issues.

In 1966 he played for the Innerkip Eagles Jr. men’s team winning the O.R.S.A. Jr. Men’s Championship and apparently drove a motorized scooter to the games in the area. In 1968 he played for the Innerkip Eagles Intermediate Men team and that year won the Intermediate C Championship.
In 2009 he was elected to the executive of the O.A.S.A. and worked his way up to become President of the O.A.S.A. Yes you have guessed it our recipient this year is Garry Waugh.
Garry in his two years as President has left a great legacy to the youth of this province with the expansion of the Springboard and School in Schools Program. His other legacy is the inception of the O.A.S.A. Hall of Fame which he was the back bone behind getting it off the ground.

Garry’s other passion is hockey and I am told he is a very good goalie playing for the St. Marys Lincolns in Jr. B and then for Collingwood in the Senior A just to name a couple of the teams. Garry is still playing hockey locally.
Garry Waugh has left some big shoes to fill and it is a real honor and privilege to name him the F. R. Feaver Award winner for 2017.

Past Winners:
1972 Dick Hames, London 1996 Wayne Venning, Port Perry
1973 George Thomas, Simcoe 1997 Frank Bender, Orleans
1974 Andy Davidson, Stratford 1998 Ron Taylor, Havelock
1975 Max Scheff, Willowdale 1999 Cliff Belch, Belleville
1976 John Brady, Oshawa 2000 Norm Fraser, North York
1977 Leroy Pickard, St. Catharines 2001 Peter Handley, North Bay
1978 John Edwards, Jarvis 2002 Al Whitfield, Strathcona
1979 Bill Jacko, North Bay 2003 Ken Leonard, Oshawa
1980 Roger Bauder, Verona 2004 Bernie Beauregard, Orleans
1981 Bill Topping, St. Thomas 2005 Cliff Dunkeld, Stouffville
1982 Gordon Martin, Binbrook 2006 Sylvia Ryan, Whitby
1983 Keith Fleming, Oshawa 2007 Bill O’Neill, Cobourg
1984 Don Prescott, Little Current 2008 Bob Whitfield, Bath
1985 Vin Walker, Oshawa 2009 Mary Myers, Gormley
1986 Bill Cleland, St. Catharines 2010 John Mather, Oshawa
1987 Layton Dodge, Cobourg 2011 Al Harrison, Wingham
1988 Bill Martin, Simcoe 2012 Gene Rouselle, St. Catharines
1989 Gord Ferguson, East York 2013 Robert Abbot, Huntsville
1990 Bill Shaw, Belleville 2014 Gary Wren, St. Thomas
1992 Roger Stewart, Grimsby 2015 Dave Reynolds, Napanee
1993 Dick Turpin, Cobourg 2016 Mike Goodridge, Port Dover
1994 Don Smith, Caledonia 2017 Garry Waugh, Woodstock
1995 Harold Godfrey, Fenelon Falls