Gil Read Coaches Honour Roll

The Ontario Amateur Softball Association annually presents an award to an outstanding coach in memory of Gil Read. Gil Read was an outstanding coach, instructor and leader who made innumerable contributions to the game of softball at the community, provincial and national levels.

2017 Gil Read Coaches Honour Roll Winner: Scott Tuttle

Scott has coached house league, rep., Canada Games Gold and North American U21 Gold Championships and assisted Team Ontario for over twenty years. Scott’s overall coaching efforts span in excess of thirty years. He is NCCP Level III certified (by Gil Read himself), a Softball Ontario instructor, a CANpitch instructor, a Dartfish expert/analyst and a regular instructor at OASA Springboard clinics.


Past Winners:
2004 Dan Lauzon, Waterloo 2010 Ian Griffen, Port Perry
Doug Brohman, Elmira Jim McKinnon, Port Elgin
2005 Bill Horne, St. Thomas 2011 Mark Hooey, Wiarton
2006 Richard Martin, Waterloo 2012 Norm MacLeod, Pickering
2007 Richard Venne, Scarborough 2013 John Beck, Port Perry
Rob Way, Waterloo 2014 Peter Chambers, Waterdown
2008 Gil Read (posthumously), Kanata 2015 Ryan Martin, Formosa
Mike Bolton, Napanee 2016 Bruce Young, Kitchener/Waterloo
Terry Gray (posthumously), Napanee 2017 Scott Tuttle, Cobourg
Doug Fisher, New Dundee
2009 Joe Lewis, Napanee
Mike Gibson, Cobourg
Jim Ford, Fingal